Council 81 elects leadership

Wilmington, DE-- On Thursday, September 9, AFSCME Council 81, elected their leadership. After postponing their bienniel convention due to COVID, Locals from across Delaware gathered at Banning Park in Wilmington, Del. to elect the leadership of AFSCME Council 81. In keeping with both CDC guidelines and Governor Carney and Delaware Public Health guidlines, the convention was held outside on Thursday and Friday September 9 and 10. 

The following people were elected to a three-year term, to expire in the fall of 2024: 

Executive Director- Michael A. Begatto
President- Faith Morris
Vice President- Steve Colon
Treasurer- Christopher Shetzler
Secretary- LaTonya Frieson-Jones

The following six (6) people were elected to the Executive Board-
Dedine Couch
Christopher Ware
James Bordley
Saul Polish
Franshell Best
Jeremy Blades

AFSCME Council 81 represents over 7,000 public employees in Delaware including workers at all levels of government, both University of Delaware and Delaware State University, and cities, towns and counties throughout the state. The biennial convention concluded on Friday, September 10, 2021.